Montrose Point, April 7-8, 2017

The 7th was cool and windy. The 8th was quite warm and windy.

Today, the 8th, we saw two blue-gray gnatcatchers and a yellow-bellied sapsucker. Those were many flickers in the field and several cormorants flying overhead. In the harbor were Red-breasted Mergansers, American Coots, Lesser Scaups, Horned Grebes, in addition to the typical gulls, Canada Geese, and mallards. There were swallows overhead – at the harbor, I don’t know what kind – nearer the lake were possibly Tree Swallows.

April 7th photos

Cooper's Hawk
Cooper’s Hawk. My wife and son were there earlier and saw this hawk. (Photo: my wife.)
Song Sparrow
Song Sparrow (I think). (Photo: my son)
European Goldfinch
The European Goldfinch was back. Did not make a peep as it fed.
The Winter Wren entered an opening on the bottom of a tree. It was pretty cooperative.

April 8th photos. My wife was on camera duty today.

Eastern Phoebe
Eastern Phoebe (Photo: my wife.)
Yellow-rumped Warbler
Yellow-rumped Warbler.(Photo: my wife.)
Hermit Thrush
Hermit Thrush (Photo: my wife.)
Horned Grebe
A young (?) male Horned Grebe. (Photo: my wife.)
